¶ 2 Leave a comment on paragraph 2 0 as late as 1827_ dating from the time of Charlemagne. Every traveller who visited the town for the first time, was attached to a ring in the wall of the customhouse and obliged to submit to the water or the wine ordeal- If the former was selected a good ducking was the result. The more agreeable alternative consisted in drinking a goblet of wine to the memory of Charlemagne and other reigning princes- was then crowned and invested with the rights of citizenship-
¶ 3 Leave a comment on paragraph 3 0 Rheinfels, rising back of the town 400 ft above is the most imposing ruin on the river and we wished for more time to examine it. It was founded 625 years ago by Count Diether 3rd of Katzenelnbogen and a Rhine toll exacted- Ten years later a confederation of 26 Rhenish towns besieged it unsuccessfully for 15 months- In 1692 the French with 24000 men unsuccessfully besieged it- but they captured it in 1758- In 1797 it was blown up and sold for $300.
¶ 4 Leave a comment on paragraph 4 0 Legendary history relates that the counts of Katzenelenbogen [sic] were always at variance with their neighbor Kuno of Falkenstein. The Counts, hearing that Kuno had fortified his castle of Thurnburg [sic], rebuilt the castle of Neu-Katzenlnbogen [sic] giving it the name of “Cat” and calling Thurnburg the “Mouse” The Two fortresses situated opposite each other dominated