¶ 3 Leave a comment on paragraph 3 2 Next appears the little village of Braubach commanded by the old castle of Marksburg 511 ft above the Rhine, formerly used as a state prisen [sic]. From here it is only seven and half miles over the hills to the fashionable watering place of Ems-
¶ 4 Leave a comment on paragraph 4 0 Next comes Boppard an old Roman city mentioned in history of the 2nd century, probably a station of the 13th Legion. It once boasted a lodge of the templar Knights, mentioned among the Crusaders at the siege of Ptolemaïs. Fragments of the round arched windows are still to be seen- They have a water cure and Hydropathic establishments of some notoriety- a passenger pointed out the residence of Conrad, still in good condition facing the Rhine.
¶ 5 Leave a comment on paragraph 5 0 The next place of interest is the little village of Bornhofen, with its gothic church erected over 400 years ago, a favorite resort of Pilgrims- Over a rocky eminence above it stands the twin Castles of Sterrenburg and Liebenstein, better known as “the Brothers” There is an interresting legend attached to them, concerning the Brothers Conrad and Heinrich who were enamored of their foster sister the beautiful Hildegarde-
¶ 6 Leave a comment on paragraph 6 0 Soon appears the ruins of Thumberg or Durenberg above the little town of Welmich, completed in 1363 was derisively called the “Maus” (mouse) by the Counts of Katzenelnbogen in contradistinction to their “cat”- On the opposite side of the river is little St. Goar named after St. Goar who built a chapel there in 570. A curious old custom the “initiation” prevailed here