|

Page 868

1 Leave a comment on paragraph 1 0 Aug Edinburgh 868

2 Leave a comment on paragraph 2 0 1560 till his death in 1572. The only relic known to have been
his is a plain modern chair in his little study in the third story, front
where it projects over the front walk. Outside over the shop is an
inscription “Lord God above al [sic] and your neighbor as yi [sic] self”.
On the corner is a little image pointing to word “God” in Greek latin
and English. He died in the large dining room 2nd story-
A little farther up the same street (Canongate) is a small paved square
surrounded by the old parliament buildings. In the centre is an
equestrian bronze statue and near it a small slab in the pavement
indicates the spot of John Knoxs grave-
A few rods further, in the side walk, made of small stones, is the “heart of
midlothian” five or six feet in diameter near St GIles church-
A half mile further down we reach “Holyrood”, a large
palace with the ruins of Holyrood chapel adjoining in the rear, while
beyond, looms up “Arthurs seat” the highest peak of Edinburgh the
delight of aspiring tourists- This Palace sometimes called
“Abbey’, was the venerable seat of Scottish royalty was formerly
a convent, begun in
1128, deriving its name
from the legend of King
Davids 1st having there
escaped from an enraged
stag by presenting a cross
(holyrood)
The jam of minters and
country people on this “free
-Holyrood Palace- day” interefered [sic] much

Page 874

Source: http://wadetravels.org/?page_id=2436