|

Page 051

1 Leave a comment on paragraph 1 0 June 30            On the Rhine                51

2 Leave a comment on paragraph 2 0 Past the long town of NiederheImbach, behind which rises the ancient ruin of Heimburg now partly restored and occupied by some country gentleman-  to the tall tower of the Castle of Sooneck, built about 850 years ago and used as a robbers stronghold, now restored and owned by the Prussian Royal family-

3 Leave a comment on paragraph 3 0 Next appears the ruins of Falkenberg, also used by robbers, finally destroyed by the French in 1689

4 Leave a comment on paragraph 4 0 Next comes the hansome [sic] castle of Rheinstein 266 ft above the Rhine-  Its origin is unknown, but was built more than six hundred years ago-   In 1825 Prince Frederick of Prussia rebuilt it, and his remains are buried in the chapel below it. There is an interresting legend attached, in substance as follows.     

5 Leave a comment on paragraph 5 0 There lived in Rheinstein a beautiful girl closely guarded by her father Knight Seyfried. The maiden loved young Cuno the Knight of Reichenstein.  The latter applied to his deceitful cousin, Knight Kurt of Ehrenfels, to intercede for him-  Kurt was smitten and made love on his own account, was refused, but the father was dazzled by his splender [sic] and accepted- On their way   

6 Leave a comment on paragraph 6 0 [-Castle of Sooneck-]

Page 53

Source: http://wadetravels.org/?page_id=202